McMeekin takes on Community and Social Services...
Bookmark and Share
Feb 11, 2013  |  Vote 0    0

McMeekin takes on Community and Social Services portfolio

Flamborough Review

Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne and her new cabinet, including Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale MPP Ted McMeekin, were sworn in at Queen's park this afternoon (Mon., Feb. 11).

The 27-person cabinet will feature 10 new members, who "will inject fresh perspectives and new ideas," reads a release.

Focused on the priorities of rural Ontario, the premier will also serve as Minister of Agriculture – a post previously held by McMeekin. McMeekin has been appointed to the Community and Social Services ministry, where he has been tasked to implement recommendations of the Social Assistance Review panel.

RELATED: McMeekin pledges to fight for poverty issues

Other members of cabinet include:

Deb Matthews (Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and Deputy Premier), Jim Bradley (Minister of Environment), John Gerretsen (Attorney General), Michael Gravelle (Minister of Northern Development and Mines), Laurel Broten (Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and Minister Responsible for Women's Issues), Brad Duguid (Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities), Linda Jeffrey (Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Chair of Cabinet), Jeff Leal (Minister of Rural Affairs), Madeleine Meilleur (Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services, Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs), David Orazietti (Minister of Natural Resources), Liz Sandals (Minister of Education), Harinder Takhar (Minister of Government Services, Chair of the Management Board of Cabinet), David Zimmer (Minister of Aboriginal Affairs), Michael Chan (Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport and Minister Responsible for the 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games), Reza Moridi (Minister of Research and Innovation), Yasir Naqvi (Minister of Labour), Charles Sousa (Minister of Finance), Eric Hoskins (Minister of Economic Development, Trade and Employment), Glen Murray (Minister of Infrastructure, Minister of Transportation), Bob Chiarelli (Minister of Energy), Michael Coteau (Minister of Citizenship and Immigration),

Tracy MacCharles (Minister of Consumer Services), Teresa Piruzza (Minister of Children and Youth Services), Mario Sergio (Minister Responsible for Seniors), John Milloy (Government House Leader) and Peter Wallace (Secretary of the Cabinet and Clerk of the Executive Council).

Bookmark and Share

(0) Comment

Join The Conversation Sign Up Login


In Your Neighbourhood Today